ARC · book review · NetGalley · The Poet's Truth

The Son’s Path by Hildebrand Hermannson

The Son's Path

Title: The Son’s Path

Author: Hildebrand Hermannson

Publisher: The Poet’s Truth

Date of publication: July 16th, 2017

Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult

Number of pages: 234

POV: 3rd person

Where you can find this book: Amazon

Book synopsis (from Goodreads):

Seeing one side of wealth and power, Sunu, the Slayer of the White Aurochs, has set his eyes on greater fame. For his envy of others’ glory is clouding the truth of who he is and what he was meant to be…to the point of disappearance. With the warnings of his austere father falling on deaf ears, it will take more than a man for Sunu to see that glory is not the only thing awaiting him outside his humble village. After striving against his father during a bullish storm, a dazzling rainbow draws Sunu out of his longhouse into a sacred oak grove, where he hears the whispering of a horse made from the sun. “There is more than what is seen.” This horse was sent by a mysterious friend, who gives it secret counsel, to help Sunu see the truth and the enemy unseen. In a journey that reveals the mystery of life, the horse must shed light on everything Sunu has to lose and everyone influencing his decisions—how they’re affecting the Sons of Man—so he will choose the right path to imperishable fame.

My review:

I love reading less known books by lesser known authors. Don’t get me wrong, I like popular authors too but I really enjoy giving the unknown authors a chance. Which I did with The Son’s Path and I was greatly disappointed by this book. A magical horse who talks to a teenager and takes him on adventures, sign me up. What I read, though, really didn’t live up the hype in my mind.

This book turned out to be one of the most boring, tedious books that I have read in a while. While it was pretty interesting in the beginning, I found that the characters really didn’t fit into the mold for Germany in 109. While the raids of Germany (ie the Saxons) were historically accurate, the mannerisms and vocabulary of Sunu seemed to model after a modern-day 15-year-old at points in the book. Which was kinda at odd with the historical setting in the book.

I had a very hard time getting through the book. If the author had just focused on Sunu and his coming of age story or even Sunu and Runa/Mystery’s adventures, I think that the book would have been a lot better. But, instead, the coming of age story was woven in with Mystery’s story and it just got confusing at points. I can’t tell you how many times I had to back up and reread a page because I felt that I missed something.

Sunu was very difficult for me to connect to as a character. He just didn’t come across as a nice person in the book, even at the end….when everything was revealed and he was supposedly changed for the better. For some reason, as a reader, I didn’t believe that and that, among with other things, ruined the book for me. I couldn’t get past his actions and his greediness in the book.

What I did like was that the author did have a glossary at the back of the book. I didn’t know it when I was reading and struggled with some of the words/names of people, place, and religions that were used in the book. But it was there and I was happy about it after the fact.

The end of the book was just as confusing at the rest of the book.

How many stars will I give The Son’s Path: 2

Why: I am actually being very generous with a 2-star rating. I gave it that because of the historical facts that were used in the book. It was very well researched in that regard and that is why I bumped my 1 star up to 2. Other than that, I found this book very tedious to read and had a very difficult time finishing it.

Will I reread: No

Will I recommend to family and friends: No

Age range: Older Teen

Why: Violence

**I chose to leave this review after reading an advance reader copy**

Leave a Reply

