King’s Lament by Lilia Blanc

Displaying kingslament3_small.jpg

Title: King’s Lament

Author: Lilia Blanc

Publisher: Inkitt

Date of publication: November 30th 2016

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, LGBT

Number of pages:

POV: Alternating 1st person

Series: No

Where you can find this book: Amazon

Goodreads synopsis:

Betrayed by his advisors, only the love of two mysterious men can rescue the young king and save his kingdom.

After the death of his father, Inea finds himself the unprepared king of a country at war. The young man is soon forsaken by his counsel and thrown into the dungeons of his own castle. With the help of the intriguing stranger Ansyn, Inea manages to escape and is left to fend for himself for the first time.

After one year of hiding, Inea, driven by desire, seeks out Ansyn and discovers that there is more to his savior then he could have ever hoped for. Joined by their new ally Kaedon, passion builds and the trio find themselves in a romance that fuels their plan to reclaim Inea’s rightful throne.

My review:

This book was fantastic and I absolutely loved reading it. I usually read at night, after the kids go to bed, but this book got escalated to daytime reading. Normally I don’t read during the day, the main reason being R and her escapades, but I made time to read this book.

I am going to be very, very, very honest….I couldn’t stand Inea. He came across, to me, as a very sheltered, very spoiled kid who had no clue how to take care of himself in the real world. He was always crying over something. I kinda wanted to reach through the book, smack him and tell him to stop crying and start working on how he was going to get his kingdom back….which he eventually did. He also was constantly getting hurt, which baffled me. You would think, with the experienced men/women around him, that he would have been better at defending himself (because they would have had some sort of lessons with him) or that they would be better at keeping him from getting hurt. But, he wasn’t. I mean, Ansym and Kaedon did eventually teach him to defend himself but still.

He did have some good, redeeming qualities. He cared, deeply, about his people and wanted to get his throne back from the Queen. He loved with all of his heart and he had to have been the most kind-hearted main character that I have read in a while. But like I said above, I couldn’t get past how he acted in the first half of the book. Drove me crazy go nuts.

On the other hand, I loved Ansym. He is a badass. Not only can he play the violin like a pro and uses that talent to stir up a small amount of civil unrest about the Queen’s rule but he is a trained assassin and you know what, I wouldn’t want to be on his bad side. Nope, no way. What he does to his enemies (thinking about the boy, Dae, here) is something I wouldn’t wish on my most hated enemy.

He really doesn’t show a soft side in the book until he meets Kaedon. At first, what was between them was just sex but you could just see Ansym falling in love with him. And it was cute. I loved watching his walls come down and seeing him fall for someone. Then Inea was added into the mix and seeing him try to battle his feelings for Kaedon and Inea was heartbreaking. When you find out why, which is actually revealed pretty early in the book, you can understand why he was afraid of falling in love.

I do wish that Kaedon did come clean to Inea and Ansym a littler earlier in the book. It could have saved Inea an injury/heartbreak and Ansym heartbreak if he did. But on the other hand, I can see why he didn’t.

The sex between all three men was crazy hot. I thought the first time between Kaedon and Ansym was hot but the threesome between Inea, Ansym and Kaedon was burning and every sex scene after that was just as hot.

I will say that Ansym and Kaedon’s ages were a big surprise. For some reason, my mental image of Ansym was of an older man. It was fueled by how he talked about himself and how the other’s in the party treated him. So, yeah, I was surprised when he finally revealed his age.

The end of the book was pretty routine and the main story line (plus the other storylines) got wrapped up in a pretty dramatic way. Giving away a small spoiler here but the last battle scene was fantastic and the way it ended. Lets just say that I felt very, very satisfied after reading it. I like it when a book makes me feel like that.

How many stars will I give King’s Lament: 4

Why: This is the first M/M/M erotica that I have ever read and it was good. My only complaint is that Inea was a little weak and a little childish. If he had been a bit stronger, I would have liked his character better. Other than that, the book was great.

Will I reread: Yes and I do wonder if there will be another book in this world.

Will I recommend to family and friends: Yes but with a warning about the explicit M/M/M sex scenes.

Age range: Adult

Why: If this book was a movie, I would give it a NC-17 rating. Explicit sex and violence

**I chose to leave this review after reading an advance reader copy**

2 comments on “King’s Lament by Lilia Blanc

Leave a Reply

