book review

Book Review: Potions In The Pizza (The W.H.O. Files, Book 1) by Mikey Brooks

Before I start my review, I want to thank Future House Publishing for allowing me to review Potions in the Pizza by Mikey Brooks.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone. I received Potions in the Pizza from Future House Publishing as an ARC for my honest and unbiased review**

Now onto my review:

Potions in the Pizza (The W.H.O. Files, #1)

Format read in: Kindle

Author: Mikey Brooks

Publisher: Future House Publishing

Date of publication: October 13th 2016

Where the book can be found:

Amazon (Kindle)

Part of a series: Yes

What series: The W.H.O. Files

Potions In the Pizza – Book 1

Book Synopsis (via Goodreads):

10­-year-­old twins Ethan and Emmy’s parents have never told their kids what they do for a living. Then just before Halloween, while their parents are away on an emergency business trip, Ethan, Emmy, and their best friend Jax discover a HUGE secret: could the twins’ parents actually be . . . witch hunters?

Meanwhile at school, a new team of glamorous lunch ladies arrives on the scene, serving meals that taste way too good to come from a school cafeteria. There’s only one logical explanation: they’re witches, and the meals they serve are spiked with a dangerous potion! Why have witches come to Roosevelt Elementary? Where have Ethan and Emmy’s parents gone? Can it be a mere coincidence that their parents left just as the witches arrived? Whether they’re ready or not, Ethan and Emmy have only one option if they want to save their school and find their parents: become witch hunters themselves.

My review:

Having a 10-year-old and 8-year-old (both will be turning 11 and 9 in November…yikes!!), I am always on the look out for books for them. My 10 year, mainly, because she doesn’t like to read and it is becoming a problem area in school (which is another post altogether). So finding her books that will capture her attention has been an ongoing thing. My 8 year old, on the other hand, well he loves to read. He actually would rather read than watch TV (which is a huge score for me).

Well, I am happy to say that Potions In The Pizza is going to be loaded onto their Kindles as soon as possible and both kids are excited to be reading it (I let them read the synopsis off of Goodreads).

The characters were great and were written for that grade level of reading. The author totally captured Emmy’s tween attitude perfectly. Believe me, she couldn’t have been written any better. My daughter also has the same problem of speaking before she thinks. I 100% felt for her parents because I am going through the same thing.

Ethan, on the other hand, reminded me of my 8-year-old (even though he was twins with Emmy). Non athletic and super smart. His discovery of things (like the frosting) always ends up in disaster. Which, for some reason, I can totally see my son doing. Maybe its time for a chemistry set for him….lol.

The whole not knowing what their parents do for a living is very spot on too. I just yelled to both kids (they are sitting in the dining room, using the laptop) and asked them “What does Daddy do”. They answered “He does stuff on the computer.” Actually he works from home as a client service manager for Mars….lol.

The middle and the end of the book was great but it ended in a cliffhanger. Now, I can’t stand cliffhangers. I detest them, actually. But, seeing that this is a children’s book and with the way the book ended (I will say go Ethan and Jax!!), if I was a 10-year-old reading this book, I would be bugging my parents to get the next one.

How many stars will I give Potions In The Pizza? 4.5

Why? A great middle grade book with memorable characters. Storyline was great and I really liked that the kids had to use their brains to get out of situations.

Will I reread? Yes

Will I recommend to family and friends? Yes

Age Range? Tween on up

Why? Some scary situations with witches, bullying and some very mild violence

 

One thought on “Book Review: Potions In The Pizza (The W.H.O. Files, Book 1) by Mikey Brooks

Leave a Reply

