Book Review: Ghostsitter by Shelly Brown

Book synopsis:

Tiffany Hart dreams of one thing, to be class president. But dreams turn to nightmares when she ends up almost dead in an abandoned slaughterhouse and develops the gift of ghost-seeing. Unfortunately she only knows one person who can help her shake her ghoulish problem, her neighbor and the weirdest boy at school, Justin Henderson. Justin has been seeing spirits since he was nine, a creepy claim that has earned him the privilege of eating lunch by himself for years. Together they start to unravel a mystery with dead orphans, a white witch, and phantom spiders. To save their lives (and afterlives of innocent children) they must face a terrifying specter and a ghastly woman who isn’t afraid of hurting kids, dead or alive.

My review:

If you want a great ghost story that has just enough scare in it for your middle schooler on up to read, then read this book. It was fantastic!!!!

I really enjoyed Tiffany’s character. Tiffany, in my head, was the ultimate tween. Trying to fit in, by any means necessary (and that means making fun of Justin), running for class president and having a crush on the cutest boy in school (sigh Brett!!), she totally reminds me of how I was in middle school (well, except the for running for class president, I didn’t do that). And she was such a scaredy pants too, which made it hilarious when she started seeing ghosts. I was reading this book while at B’s orthodontist appointment and was giggling at some of her escapes….lol.

Justin’s character was written more seriously and his back story hits you right in the feels. Big time. There is a certain scene that made me cry (if you read the book, you know exactly what scene it is). In the flipping orthodontist office. With another mother staring at me. She asked me if I was alright and I said “I am reviewing a book and it’s really sad right now.” She moved her seat right after that….lol.

The story itself was fantastic and if I was Tiffany, I would have done the same thing when 2 ghost children and 1 ghost toddler showed up at my house and screamed like banshee. I do also like how the ghosts brought Tiffany and Justin back together as friends.

I thought the ending was perfect for the book. Again, another big hit in the feels!!!

How many stars will I give Ghoststitter? 5

Why? It is a very well written, very clean book that is appropriate for kids in 4th grade on up. It was scary in some parts, sweet in others parts and sad in other parts. I could see B reading this book and loving it.

Would I read it again? Yes

Would I recommend it to family and friends? Yes

Age Range? 4th grade (10-11 years old) on up.

Amazon Links:

Please remember that the price can and will change

Kindle

Paperback

Disclaimer: I received Ghostsitter by Shelly Brown for free from Future House Publishing for my honest review. All opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone.

Next book review:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

