book review

The Descendant (Guardians of the Worlds: Book 1) by Ally Capraro

Before I start my review, I would like to thank Ally Capraro for allowing me to review The Descendant.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone. I received The Descendant from Ally Capraro for free for my honest and unbiased review**

Now onto my review:

The Descendant (Guardians of the Worlds, #1)

Title: The Descendant

Author: Ally Capraro

Publisher: Capraro Press

Date of Publication: March 29th 2016

Number of pages: 316

Part of a series: Yes

What series: Guardians of the Worlds

The Descendant – Book 1

Where the book can be found:

Amazon| iTunes | Kobo

Goodreads synopsis:

Possessed villains. Intriguing guardians. Multiple words.
Ava Davenport is in the midst of her wedding preparations when her world is thrown upside down by a night visitor. He has a mind-blowing message and Ava can’t keep her mind off it and… off him.

˃˃˃ The Contact
When she can no longer tell the difference between dreams and reality, she visits a shrink and a shaman. But when neither of them truly understand her, Ava gets closer with her visitor who explains why she is the most sought after person in all the worlds.

˃˃˃ The Descendant
Ava is not a regular human. She possesses abilities no other being in any world can imagine. She is the key to the evil Xemlix plan of enslaving Earth.

After being almost captured by the cruel villains, she is rescued by Meldrick Richglow, her night visitor, and she crosses the portal to the Lapo civilization, the land of milk and honey, where she is safe, but not for long.

The evil Xemlix are terrorizing Earth and can only be defeated with Ava’s supernatural abilities, which haven’t yet awakened.

˃˃˃ The Series
“The Descendant” is the first YA sci-fi/fantasy romance novel in the “Guardians of the Worlds” series. It features fast paced action, side-splitting comedy and out of this world romance.

My review:

If you are looking for the perfect pool/beach/laying in the sun on a cruise ship book, then this is it.

I actually really enjoyed reading this book, even if it did annoy me in some spots. All of the people, including the aliens (except for Lord Slith but maybe because I pictured him as a giant lizard) were gorgeous. Ava, Chloe, Victor, Barry, Meldrick….all insanely good-looking. I was looking for someone who wasn’t model material in this book but didn’t find anyone. But hey, more eye candy for me to imagine…haha.

I did like Ava’s character, even though she did seem a little needy and fell into Instalove like that <snaps fingers>. She was very sweet, a little naive and I could totally see us being friends. She seems like she needed someone to protect her from the Barry’s in life…which is why I didn’t care for Chloe at first. She wasn’t there for her. Chloe has a revolving door of men.

When she met Meldrick in a dream, she did what any sane person would have done and went to a shrink. When that didn’t work, she went to an alternative shrink. I was dying laughing during that scene and now whenever I see the phrase “beautiful soul” I will forever think of Glenn Wiley.

Now speaking of Medrick Richglow. He came off as kinda stalkerish in the beginning. I mean, coming into a girl’s dream and explaining who he is and where he comes from is weird and it will make said girl run to a shrink. Then afterwards, saves her from a microchipped zombie alien (yes, you read that right…lol) and takes her to his boat on an alternate reality where he reveals her true identity to her. Don’t know about you but it screams kinda sorta stalkerish to me.

Lord Slith is an evil, evil alien who wants to take over Earth. In order to open the portal between his realm and Earth, he has to fuel it with fear. Which he has no problem getting from Earth, unfortunately. And he is after Ava because he believes that she is the girl from the prophecy.

The ending to this story was good. I wasn’t expecting the twist that was put in there and wanted to cry :(. The author definitely left it open for the next book.

How many stars will I give The Descendant? 3/3.5

Why? While I liked the story, I felt that the story seemed a little forced in places and some storylines just disappeared (Xenia was a main one). The book did lag a little bit in the middle but gained steam gain.

Will I reread? Yes

Will I recommend to family and friends? Yes

Age Range? Teen on up

Why? No sex. Some violence.

 

One thought on “The Descendant (Guardians of the Worlds: Book 1) by Ally Capraro

Leave a Reply

