Book review: Highland Temptation (Highland Knights: Book 3) by

 

Before I start this review, I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing-Loveswept for allowing me to review this book.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone.  I received Highland Temptation from Netgalley through Random House Publishing-Loveswept as an ARC for my honest and unbiased review**

Now onto my review:

Format read in: Kindle

Author: Jennifer Haymore

Publisher: Random House Publishing-Loveswept

How many pages: 218 pages

Where to find this book: Amazon (Kindle)

Book synopsis:

When Lady Emilia Buchanan discovers that her despicable father has been scheming against the crown, she turns to the Highland Knights for protection—and retribution. Spirited away to a safe house on the outskirts of London, Emilia is surprised to find herself sharing close quarters with a soft-spoken, musclebound Highlander. Before long, curiosity gives way to an alarming attraction. Emilia has learned firsthand from her father that men are not to be trusted. She just never met one so honorable and loyal, so powerful and, yes, tempting.

Ever since Waterloo, Colin Stirling has struggled with memories that haunt him night and day. Driven near to madness, he no longer trusts himself with meaningful relationships of any kind. At least in this temporary sanctuary, Colin can withdraw from the world—that is, until his stunningly gorgeous charge learns the full depth of his pain. In Emilia, Colin sees a kindred spirit with battle scars of her own. He also senses a chance to heal . . . and to find love.

My review:

 

I am a sucker for historical romances and ones from this time period. I love the period clothes, the courting of the women, the description of the ton….love it all. But, I mainly love the Scots from this period. Every single book that I have read, they are the bad boys and I love it.

This book was no exception with that. But I wouldn’t class Colin as a “bad boy”.  He has PTSD and survivor’s guilt after fighting with the English Army at Waterloo (and other battles). Emilia is his kindred spirit. She had been horrifically abused by her father and carries internal and external scars. Both Colin and Emilia touched my heart because of what they had gone through.

The story was good too. I mean, who doesn’t like a little mystery and intrigue with your romance? I know I do!!!

The only thing I can even complain about with this book is that it is a 3rd book in the series and you can tell. This is not a standalone book. The characters from the old books come into play here and they talk about what happened in previous books. Which annoys the ever-living out of me.

How many stars will I give Highland Temptation? 3.5

Why? It is a great book, very well researched but lagged in some spots. Also, the fact that it was the 3rd book in the series.

Will I recommend it to my family and friends? Yes

Will I reread it? Yes….after I read the other books first

Age range: Adult

Why? Sex scenes (which were very tastefully done) and a couple of scenes where Emilia is beaten like a horse.

Part of a series? Yes, it is Book 3 in the Highland Knights series

A Highlander’s Heart (Highland Knights, Book 0.5)

Highland Heat (Highland Knights, Book 1)

HIghland Awakening (Highland Knights, Book 2)

Highland Temptation (Highland Knights, Book 3)

 

One comment on “Book review: Highland Temptation (Highland Knights: Book 3) by

  1. […] Highland Temptation: 4 star review […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

