Recipe: Chicken Enchilada Rice Bake

My kids love Mexican food. Well, 2 out of the 3 kids do. R doesn’t like anything spicy and refuses to eat it. I try to make Mexican at least once a week and I try to stay away from Taco Tuesday, if possible. Taco’s are fine but I like to switch it up for the kids if I can. So, when I found the recipe in The Food Network magazine, I clipped it out and had to try it.

Chicken Enchilada Rice Bake (please note that any changes/notes that I make will be in bold black font)

Prep time: 15 mins (I was actually able to do some of the prep work, aka cut the tortillas, as the rice was cooking)

Cook time: 25 mins

Total time: 40 mins

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 small onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped (I used pre chopped garlic out of the jar. Much easier….lol)

1 tablespoon taco or fajita seasoning (I used McCormick taco seasoning)

1 14.5 ounce can chopped tomatoes with green chiles (I didn’t write the can size down and picked up a 10 oz can instead of a 14.5 ounce can. BK ended up chopping a tomato and a green jalapeno that we got from our garden to make up for it)

1 cup converted long grain white rice* (I forgot to get the darn rice from the grocery store. So we ended up parboiling the rice. Look for how I did it at the end of the recipe. It turned out great!!)

3 cups of water (I added this in because it wasn’t added in the original recipe. But it is in the instructions. Kinda thought it was important to have in the ingredients)

2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken (skin removed) (Ok, we can’t afford to get rotisserie chicken every time a recipe calls for it. What we did, instead, was take 2 lbs of skinless chicken thighs, boil them with various spices (BK did this part, I had a stomach bug), shred them and then tossed with more spices. The chicken was so delicious and tender!!!)

2 cups Mexican cheese blend (about 8 ounces) (I only measured out 1 cup and winged the rest)

1/2 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped, plus more for topping (Since I was sick with a stomach bug, shopping fell to BK this week. As you can tell, he forgot some things…cilantro being one of them. We did substitute the cilantro for curly leaf parsley from our garden but it wasn’t the same)

1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt (again, was in the original ingredient list but didn’t state how much until you read the recipe. And if you are like me and have everything out, this could throw a major wrench in your prep work)

6 corn tortillas, cut into quarters (So simple to do this. Just cut lengthwise (in half). The take the halves and cut in half, lengthwise, again)

Sour cream and pickled jalapeno peppers, for topping

How to make:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a large nonstick ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat (I used cast iron). Add the onion and cook until slightly softened, about 2 mins (onions will start to look slightly translucent). Add the garlic and taco seasoning and cook, stirring occasionally, until the garlic softens, about 1 minute. Stir in the tomatoes, rice and 3 cups water. Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce heat to medium low. Cook until rice is tender, about 20 mins. (Funny side note: We don’t have a good cover for our cast iron skillet. So, I used two baking sheets and they worked just as good….lol. Also, BK add this seasoning to the dish after we added the rice. Don’t know how much he added, he just shook it over. If I had to guess, maybe 1 tablespoon. It gave the dish a wonderful flavor (which kinda made up for the lack of cilantro )
  2. Preheat the broiler. Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the chicken, 1 cup of cheese, the cilantro (or in this case, parsley) and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Arrange the tortillas on top to cover and sprinkle with the remaining 1 cup cheese (I didn’t measure out the cheese, I just sprinkled until it was covered). Broil until the cheese melts, 2 to 3 minutes. Top with sour cream, pickled jalapeno and more cilantro. (I didn’t top with the sour cream, pickled jalapeno (didn’t have them..whoops) or cilantro (which I didn’t have). I did sprinkle with parsley and per each kids taste, I loaded up the sour cream. Unfortunately, BK made a cheesecake the night before and used half of that for the recipe. So I was left with very little to use and the kids got it.)

Where can I find this recipe: Food Network

How did the kids and the man like it? B and Z loved it, they had 3rds. If you knew them, they don’t eat 3rds of things. BK loved it too but he said that the cilantro should have been used (cilantro that he neglected to buy, btw)….lol. R didn’t eat it. She normally doesn’t like spicy dishes and she is on a chicken nugget/mac and cheese/mozzarella cheese/salad kick right now.

Is it a keeper? Yes

Experience level: Beginner/Intermediate

Next recipe: Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

*We parboiled the rice. Which basically is that we brought the water to boil, added the rice, brought it back up to boil and kept it at a boil for 5 mins. It turned out perfectly!!

One thought on “Recipe: Chicken Enchilada Rice Bake

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Chicken Enchilada Rice Bake | Just an Opinion

Leave a Reply

