Book Review: Skies (Sharani Series: Book 3) by Kevin L. Nielson

Before I start my review, I would like to thank Future House Publishing for allowing me to review Skies by Kevin L Nielson.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone. I received Skies from Future House Publishing as an ARC for my honest and unbiased review**

Now onto my review:

Skies (Sharani Series Book 3) by [Nielsen, Kevin L.]

Title: Skies

Author: Kevin L. Nielsen

Publisher: Future House Publishing

Date of Publication: August 18th 2016

Number of pages: 363

Where the book can be found:

Amazon (Kindle) (Will be $2.99 between August 18th-August 25th. Is normally $4.99)

Part of a series: Yes

What series: Sharani Series

Sands – Book 1

Storms – Book 2

Skies – Book 3

Book synopsis (via Goodreads):

For the Rahuli people, the world has just gotten a lot bigger.

Gavin, now the unchallenged leader of the displaced Rahuli, grows increasingly frustrated with the members of the so-called slave “rebellion.” The former slaves are frightened by the Rahuli’s war-filled history, but the Rahuli’s warrior ways might be the only thing to stop the Orinai from slaughtering them all.

Meanwhile, Lhaurel is held prisoner by the Seven Sisters, the mysterious and ruthless mages who rule the Orinai. Cut off from her magic, she is forced to travel to the Orinai capital under threat against the Rahuli. Unbeknownst to Lhaurel, despite their promises the Sisters have no intention of letting the Rahuli live.

While Lhaurel begins to understand the Seven Sisters, their armies march toward the Rahuli once again. To defend his people, Gavin must earn the trust of the former slaves or nobody stands a chance against the approaching horde.

Can Gavin defeat the Orinai, or have the Rahuli entered a fight they cannot win?

My review:

I am going to start off this review by saying you need to read Sands and Storms first. Skies is not, stress is not a standalone book. I made the mistake of not reading Sands and Storms before reading Skies and I was so utterly confused that I ended up stopping reading Skies, buying Sands and Storms, reading them and then restarting Skies. Which is why I didn’t have my review ready on the date it was released.

Lhaurel’s character really progressed from the first 2 books and I felt awful that she was shut off from her powers. I also felt bad that she was held captive by those creepy Sisters. Now, when I think of Sisters, I think of kind little nuns in their habits. From what I gleaned about these Sisters, they are the opposite. They wear tight-fitting clothes (which Lhaurel really didn’t like), filed their teeth to points (well most of them did, Talha painted hers) and were generally bad ass bitches that no one wanted to mess with. And I loved it. I did like Talha. She seemed the most easy-going out of all the sisters.

The other storyline focused on Gavin and his band of Rahuli. Gavin is having a hard time as being the ruler and trying to keep the peace with the head of the village, a man named Brisson, who in my opinion was a dick (foreshadowing here). Brisson kept reminding Gavin of the hardship that the Rahuli are putting on his people and Gavin keeps reminding Brisson that his people could help. It’s a stalemate until Gavin decides that he has had enough and forces Brisson to accept him as an equal (after all, Gavin is a warrior).

Not going to go too much into that storyline but I was impressed with how it ended up and I loved the twist at the end. Absolutely freaking loved it. There were hints pointing to the twist but I was still surprised when it came.

Lhaurel’s storyline was a little more complicated but none the less just as enthralling. I did like the waking dreams and the end of her story was totally not what I was expecting. I honestly thought that it would go another way.

The author did leave it open for a 4th book. But no cliffhangers, which I hate. He wrapped up each storyline in a way that it definitely closed the door on that story and opened a new door for the next story.

How many stars will I give Skies? 4

Why? It’s a wonderfully written, thoroughly engrossing book with vividly written worlds and characters.

Will I reread? Yes

Will I recommend to family and friends? Yes

Age Range? Teen on up

Why? Violence but otherwise, it is a very clean book.

Now onto the fun stuff!!

  1. Head to the Future House Publishing Blog to win an autographed copy of Skies. This giveaway is until 8-31 and then it will be over, so I would run over and enter!!!
  2. Also, Future House Publishing will be having a giveaway on Goodreads. Keep checking the page to see when it will be up!!

**Just a repeat but I received Skies free from Future House Publishing as an ARC for my honest review.

One comment on “Book Review: Skies (Sharani Series: Book 3) by Kevin L. Nielson

Leave a Reply

