Recipe: Decadent (Gluten Free) Chocolate Cake

Chocolate cake is a favorite around my household. B, Z and R absolutely love it. So when I saw this recipe featured in The Food Network magazine, I decided to try it out. Now, a warning in advance, I didn’t make it gluten-free (BK asked me not too) but the recipe still turned out delicious!!

Decadent (Gluten Free) Chocolate Cake (Please note that changes/any notes that I have done will be in black font)

Prep time: 20 mins

Cook time: 20 mins (15 mins approximately for cooking, 5 mins for melting chocolate)

Cooling down time: 1 hour

Total time: 1 hour 40 mins

Ingredients:

1 pound plus 3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, such as Lindt, broken into chunks (I used the red package of Choceur chocolate from Aldi’s. I got 5 16ozs bars. Used 4 bars in the cake and half of the other bar in the frosting)

10 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces, at room temp

1 tbsp Cup4Cup gluten-free flour (I didn’t use gluten-free flour. Used regular flour instead. Made zero impact on the recipe)

1 1/2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp instant coffee granules (I forgot to get instant coffee. So we used the coffee from a K-cup.)

1/4 tsp kosher salt

4 extra-large eggs, at room temperature, separated

1/4 cup heavy cream

How to make:

  1. Preheat oven to 425, Grease an 8″ springform pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.
  2. Place the 1lb of chocolate in a large heatproof set over a pan of simmering water and stir occasionally until chocolate is melted. Off the heat, immediately stir in the butter, flour, sugar, coffee granules and salt with a rubber spatula. Whisk in the egg yolks until smooth. (Ok, here I screwed up a little bit. All of my measuring spoons were side by side on my counter. When I went to put in the sugar, I added 1 tbsp. Put it down and then grabbed 1 tsp and dumped that in. I didn’t notice a difference in the batter but I learned a valuable lesson. Keep your measuring spoons separate!!!)
  3. Place the egg whites in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment and beat until they form soft peaks. Scrape the egg whites into the chocolate mixture and fold them in very carefully with a rubber spatula, until just combined. Scrape the mixture into the prepared pan, smooth the top and bake for 15 minutes exactly. (Be sure your oven temperature is accurate!!) (My batter looked greasy. I don’t know if I screwed something up but it looked like it needed a shower…haha. Also, because of my oven issues (which I have blogged about in the past) I had to keep checking on it. I did keep it in the oven for the 15 mins, though)
  4. Turn the oven off and leave the cake in the oven, leaving the door slightly ajar. Allow the cake to cool in the oven for 1 hour. The cake will sink in the middle. (Did this. I was a little worried because it looked like hadn’t sunk in. But, I was proven wrong in the next step. Silly me for worrying about that)
  5. Carefully release the side of the pan and slide the cake onto a flat serving plate or cake stand. Place the 3 ounces of chocolate and the heavy cream in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water and heat until the chocolate melts, stirring occasionally. Add a drop of cream if the mixture is too thick to pour. Pour the chocolate onto the sunken part of the cake, leaving the edge unfrosted. Allow to cool and serve warm or at room temperature with a scoop of ice cream. (I used a glass dinner plate. Add a serving plate/cake stand to my list of stuff to get. The cake did sink in the middle and it became apparent as soon as I poured the chocolate on it)

Where can I find this recipe: Food Network

How did the kids and the man like it? They loved it but everyone said it was very rich. Which I expected with the amount of butter and chocolate used. Best to have small slices and serve with ice cream!!

Is it a keeper? Yes

Experience level: Intermediate

Next recipe: Chicken Enchilada Rice Bake

20160813_173739

Leave a Reply

