Cheesecake-Swirled Carrot Bundt Cake

My kids love cake. If we got to Wal-Mart and I stray near the bakery, R will start talking about cake in a tone of voice that is usually reserved for seeing a toy she really wants. B and Z will hound me to get one made (yes, they do that) until I have to leave or ask the bakery workers to make them into cakes….lol.

R and B also have a weakness for cheesecake. They both absolutely love it but can’t eat it because they are both lactose intolerant. B is slightly more than R. To this day, I haven’t been able successfully change a cheesecake recipe to one that is for lactose intolerant (including this recipe).

Cheesecake-Swirled Carrot Bundt Cake (Please note that changes/any notes that I have done will be in black font)

Prep time: 20 mins

Cook time: 60 mins

Cooling down time: 1 hour 45mins (this will vary)

Total time: 3 hours 5 mins (again, will vary)

Serves: 12

Ingredients:

Carrot Cake:

2 1/4 cups Gold Medal all-purpose flour (I used Great Value, if that makes any difference)

1 1/2 tsps baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

2 cups shredded carrots

1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

3/4 cup crushed pineapple, undrained (I used Dole and 1 can equals 3/4 cup exactly)

4 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup chopped pecans (I didn’t use)

Cream Cheese Swirl

1 package (8oz) cream cheese, softened (I looked, and couldn’t find, for a lactose free cream cheese substitute. Unfortunately, I didn’t google for a substitute before I went out so I had to purchase regular cream cheese)

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

Vanilla Glaze

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

3 to 4 tablespoons milk or heavy whipping cream (I used 3 tbsps and I used lactose free milk)

Additional pecans, for garnish, as desired (didn’t use)

How to Make:

  1. Heat Oven to 350 degrees. Spray 12 cup fluted tube cake pan with cooking spray, or grease and lightly flour. (I used Pam Happy Baking No Stick Cooking Spray. The cake slid right out of the pan. I also sprayed the pan right before I added the batter).
  2. In large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Add shredded carrots, toss to coat. In medium bowl, beat brown sugar, pineapple, 4 eggs, vegetable oil and 1 tsp vanilla. Add to dry ingredients; stir just until combined. Stir in chopped pecans. (Ok, I will warn you, the batter looks like throw up once its all mixed together. I didn’t even think of it that way but B, bless her heart, wandered over to see what I was doing and went “Ewwwww, it looks like puke.” Gotta love her!! I also didn’t use pecans.)
  3. In medium bowl, beat Cream Cheese Swirl ingredients with whisk until smooth (I used a handheld beater to do this. My reason….I was getting aggravated with the whisk. No I do have a Kitchen Aide mixer with a whisk attachment (we call it The Bitch). Looking back on this, I should have used that.)
  4. Pour half of the cake batter in pan. Spoon cream cheese mixture on top, leaving 1 inch around edges. Spoon remaining cake batter on top. (Ok, so this is where I went wrong with recipe. Actually Step 2 was where I missed the vegetable oil. I realized this after I had done everything in step 4. So I had to take the batter out of the oven, pour it into a bowl, mix in the oil and then put it back in the pan. So the cream cheese got mixed into the batter and it wasn’t a swirl. But, at least I caught it in time!!)
  5. Bake about 60 minutes or until cake springs back when gently pressed. Cool in pan 15 minutes, then remove to cooling rack to cool completely, about 1 hour. (I think my cake baked for maybe 45-50 minutes. But like I have explained in other posts, my oven runs 10-15 degrees hotter than a normal oven.)
  6. In medium bowl, mix powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and enough milk to make a thick but pourable glaze, gently pour over cooled cake; top with pecans. Let stand 30 minutes for frosting to set before serving. (I didn’t use pecans.)

Where can I find this recipe? Betty Crocker

How did the kids and the man like it? B and BK just had slices of it and they loved it. B is currently working on her 2nd slice. Z and R haven’t had any….yet.

Is it a keeper? Yes

Experience level: Beginner/Intermediate

Next recipe:

Decadent Chocolate Cake

2 comments on “Cheesecake-Swirled Carrot Bundt Cake

  1. quillable says:

    This sounds divine!! 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

