Recipe: Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

This was originally a Paleo recipe. But seeing that I do not follow that diet and I couldn’t find coconut amino’s and tapioca starch, I goggled/facebooked and got the substitutes for what I could use in replacement.

What I ended up with a totally delicious and healthy dish.

Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli (please note that any changes/notes be in black font)

Prep Time: 15 mins

Cook Time: 5 hours 30 mins

Total time: 5 hours 45 mins

Serves: 4 (I doubled the recipe)

Ingredients:

1lb boneless chuck roast, sliced into thin strips (I could not find chuck roast at the any of the supermarkets I went to and I hit up Aldi’s, Super Walmart, Lowes Food and 2 Food Lion’s, nada (I even asked the meat department people). So I used 2lbs of country style ribs, cut into thin pieces)

2 to 3 cups fresh broccoli florets (or, like I used, 1 bag frozen broccoli florets. Remember I doubled the recipe)

1 apple, thinly sliced (I also peeled it and I used 2)

1/2 cup beef stock (I used 1 cup)

1/3 cup coconut aminos (Ok, this is where I decided to vary the recipe. I couldn’t find coconut aminos anywhere I shopped, see the list above. I googled it and you can substitute soy sauce for it. So I did that. And since I doubled the recipe, I used 2/3 cup of soy sauce)

1/3 cup raw honey (I didn’t use raw honey, I used organic honey out of a bottle. Not that I think it mattered much…lol. And I used 2/3 of a cup)

3 cloves garlic, minced (I used minced garlic out of a jar and used 3 tsps of garlic….according to the directions on the jar)

1 tbsp tapioca starch (This is another thing that I couldn’t find in stores, must have been an off week…lol. I did look on Amazon and it was on there but I wasn’t willing to pay what they wanted. So, I googled again and found out that you can substitute tapioca starch with cornstarch. Which I had. And since I doubled, 2 tbsp)

How to make:

  1. In a slow cooker, combine together the beef stock, coconut aminos (or soy sauce), honey, garlic and sliced apple. Stir.
  2. Add the beef to the slow cooker and stir
  3. Set slow cooker to low and cook for 4 to 5 hours (I cooked 4 hours 30 mins)
  4. When the time is up, combine the tapioca starch (or cornstarch)with some of the liquid from the slow cooker in a small bowl. Pour it back into the slow cooker and stir well (I used 4 small ladle fulls of liquid and added the cornstarch, mixed it, added back to the crockpot and stirred well)
  5. Add the broccoli (don’t forget to stir!!) and cook for another 30 mins (Paleo Leap)

How many stars will I give Slow Cooked Beef and Broccoli? 5

Why? This was a great, protein packed meal. The honey and the apple gave it a ton of sweetness while the soy sauce gave it a bit of a bite. The broccoli was cooked just right, not soggy but crisp and it was bright green.

How did the kids and the man like it? B, Z and BK loved the dish. R liked the broccoli but didn’t like the meat.

Is it a keeper? Most definitely!!

Experience level? Beginner

Where to find this recipe: Paleo Leap

20160718_170438

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

