Book Review: The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman by Brady Stefani

Before I start my review, I want to thank NetGalley and SparkPress for allowing me to review The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone.  I received The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman from NetGalley via SparkPress as an ARC for my honest and unbiased review**

Now, onto my review:

Format read in: Kindle

Author: Brady G. Stefani

Publisher: SparkPress

Date of publication: July 7 2016

Number of pages: 282

Where the book can be found: 

Amazon (Kindle and Paperback) Please remember that the prices can and will change

Barnes and Noble (Nook and Paperback) Please remember that the prices can and will change

Indie Bookstore

Book synopsis:

Fifteen-year-old Courtney Hoffman is determined not to go insane like her crazy grandfather did—right before he tried to drown her when she was seven. But something is happening to her. She’s being visited in her bedroom at night by aliens who claim to have shared an alliance with her now-dead grandfather. And Courtney knows that aliens aren’t real, which means she must be going crazy. And her mother and her new boyfriend have zero tolerance for craziness.

Then Courtney meets Agatha Kirlich, a mysterious older girl with sleuthing skills and alien-obsession issues of her own, and together—armed with ancient stories of a human-alien bloodline, a few photographs, and the creepy tattoo left on Courtney’s rib cage by her grandfather before he disappeared—the girls embark on a mission to uncover the truth about Courtney’s alien visitors. Ultimately, Courtney must put her fears aside, defy her mother, embrace her true identity, and risk everything in order to save herself—and the world.

My review:

This book was fantastic. We meet Courtney as she is running through her backyard in a rainstorm, the night before her 16th birthday, trying to get away from alien visitors and her own memories of her beloved grandfather and the night that he tried to kill her.

I really felt bad for Courtney. Her mother, and pardon my French, was a grade A bitch. There were some points in the book where I wanted to reach through the pages and take Courtney away. She was in competition for Mommy Dearest (seriously). The best thing that happened to Courtney in the beginning of the book was when she was sent to live with her father after she was admitted to the psych ward. He was more accepting of her.

The story really got going once Courtney met Agatha. I won’t get into it much but once Agatha came into the picture the ball got rolling. Lets just say that everything Courtney remembers really wasn’t the truth and that the truth was so much more than what I expected.

The ending was great. There was a couple of twists that I saw coming from a mile away and that I kinda went eh at. But the biggest one was saved for right at the very end and I was very disappointed that the author chose to have certain events forgotten by all except Agatha and Courtney. It made me want to scream (and I would have except that it was 1130 at night). I did like that the author left it open for a possible sequel (Jorge and his blue eyes….swoon)

How many stars will I give The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman? 4

Why? It is a very well written book that combine young adult and science fiction seamlessly. You were taken for an intense ride that will make you question Courtney’s sanity from page one until about the middle of the book.

Will I read it again? Yes

Will I recommend to family and friends? Yes

Age Range? Teen on up

Why? No sex, minimal violence.

 

 

Leave a Reply

