book review

Book Review: forte by J.D. Spero

Before I start my review, I want to thank Netherfield Publishing for allowing me to review forte.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone.  I received forte from Netherfield Publishing for free for my honest and unbiased review**

Now, onto my review:

Format read in: Kindle

Author: J.D. Spero

Publisher: Netherfield Publishing

Date of publication: July 25th 2015

Number of pages: 348 pages

Where the book can be found: Amazon (Kindle and Paperback). Please remember that the price can and will change

Book synopsis:

The price for fitting in: selling out . . .  

 
Back in New York City, piano filled Sami McGovern’s life, but moving upstate has changed everything. Thanks to the coach at Skenesboro High, Sami’s volleyball skills blossom like magic. But success comes at a cost, and the same sports drink that makes her a superstar silences her music. Worse still, to stay in the “in” crowd, she must betray the few true friends she has made in the tiny town. Her one hope: fulfill a prophecy to end the magic before it destroys her . . . and everyone else in its thrall.
My review:
This book hooked me from the first paragraph. Sami’s mother decides to move them to her hometown after years of living in New York City. Which, then made me think to myself, “Why on earth would you do that?!?!?”. I have been to New York City. The hustle and bustle was amazing and to be living among it, I can only imagine. To say she was unhappy about moving was an understatement.
The underlying message of this story (be who you are, don’t let anyone change you) is great. The fact that Sami did change to fit in with her new group of friends and the fact that she realized that in order to beat the bad guys was to embrace herself, wholly, was fantastic. Because most teens do change who they are to fit in or to impress a boy or to just have friends.
I do wish that there was more of a romance between Sami and Jason. I really do. There were sparks every time that they met (plus one kiss) but it never went that way. Which, in hindsight, is a good thing because I do believe that if Sami was romantically involved with someone, it would have changed the whole course of the book.
How many stars will I give forte? 3.5/4
Why? Very well written and very well researched. Definitely a book that I could come back to. I just wish that the author went a little more into what happened to Sami’s father.
Will I reread it? Yes
Will I recommend to family and friends? Yes
Age range: Teen on up
Why? Very clean. No sex, no violence.

Leave a Reply

