Book Review: The Last Humans Trilogy by Dima Zales and Anna Zaires

Before I start my review, I want to thank LastHumans for allowing me to review The Last Humans Trilogy.

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone.  I received The Last Humans Trilogy from LastHumans for my honest and unbiased review**

Now onto my review:

Format read in: Kindle

Author: Dima Zales, Anna Zaires

Publisher: Mozaika Publications

Date of publication: June 10, 2016

Where the book can be found: Amazon (Kindle and Paperback)

Book synopsis:

From the New York Times bestseller Dima Zales comes an action-packed sci-fi adventure set in a post-singularity future. For a limited time, get all 3 full-length novels (1000+ pages) in one convenient, discounted bundle.

When invisible technology runs everything and memories can’t be trusted, how does one sort the truth from the lies?

Oasis, the last habitable area on post-apocalyptic Earth, is meant to be a paradise, a place where everyone is content. Vulgarity, violence, insanity, and other ills are but a distant memory, and even death no longer plagues the last surviving humans.

Theo, a twenty-three-year-old Youth, has never fit in with the serene, age-divided Oasis society. But it’s only when he starts hearing a girl’s voice in his head that he realizes that nothing is what it seems. Phoe is his imaginary friend—or is she?

As secrets are unveiled, Theo is dragged into a dangerous game where the virtual and the real worlds collide.

What does it mean to be human? What does it mean to be real?

Theo is about to find out.

Warning: This book contains some strong language. We felt it was important for the censorship theme of the novel. If such words offend you, you might not enjoy this book. If in doubt, please read the sample before buying.

NOTE: This is a complete trilogy containing three full-length novels— Oasis, Limbo, and Haven.

My review:

This isn’t the first set of books that I have read by Dima Zales and Anna Zaires. I had reviewed The Mind Dimensions Omnibus by Dima Zales are few months back and liked it. But, I absolutely loved Close Liaisons (The Krinar Chronicles: Book 1) by Anna Zaires (read in January 2013 and didn’t review….read purely for pleasure). So I was pretty excited to read this trilogy.

I was disappointed. Very disappointed and a little let down. The first book, Oasis, was alright and actually kept my attention for the entire book. The story was good (was Theo going insane? Who was Phoe?) but it started to get a little stranger towards the end. I had a couple of questions that weren’t answered (mainly about…spoiler here…how Theo got in and out of virtual reality when he had no clue it was there). The ending of Oasis was interesting and definitely set up for the 2nd book, Limbo

Limbo wasn’t my favorite book of the series. It started off where Oasis ended and for a little while, the story was interesting. I really liked the connection between Phoe and Theo and to be honest, I wished the author never crossed the line into romance with them. But, it was done and I felt it colored the story from there on. Also, I got very confused about Theo going in and out of virtual reality to the point where I couldn’t figure out if he was in virtual reality or not. There was no line drawn. I did think that the subplot with the Elders were great but I really wished that the author had twisted it a different way. The ending was alright but in no way led up to Haven.

Haven was probably the best book in the series. It started with a bang and ended on a sweet note. Everything else in between was a great read and what was revealed about Oasis was nothing short of unbelievable. There was a big twist revealed towards the end of Haven that made me go “da faq” and then made me question everything that had been written in the book. It seriously did.

How many stars will I give The Last Human trilogy? 3

Why? While a very well written book, I felt that the characters could have had a bit more depth to them. The ending seemed a little rushed and the entire 2nd book dragged, big time.

Will I reread? Maybe

Will I recommend to family and friends? Maybe

Age range: Adult

Why? Graphic violence, sex and one scene where a person is euthanized.

Leave a Reply

