Recipe: Cake Batter Blondies (Gluten-Free & Dairy-Free)

I am going to come right out and tell you guys this:

I did not make these gluten-free.

Why? I forgot the gosh darn almond flour when I went shopping and realized it when I was halfway through mixing the ingredients. Story of my flipping life….lol. It was on my list too. See, we got to Aldi’s, do the bulk of our shopping there and then head to Wal-Mart to pick up whatever Aldi’s doesn’t have and I must have forgotten that I didn’t get almond flour.

So, I apologize. These were not gluten-free. But they were still delicious!!!

Cake Batter Blondies: (please note that any changes, notes I have will be in bold black font)

Prep time: 15 mins

Cook time: 30 mins

Total time: 45 mins

Serves: 2.5 dozen (or if you are like my family, it is gone in one night….lol)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter (or dairy free butter options), softened

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 3/4 Bob’s Red Mill Almond Flour (or if you screwed up like I did, regular flour)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I actually doubled this to 1 cup and skipped the next step)

1/2 cup white chocolate chips (See above)

1/4 cup festive sprinkles + plus extra for topping (I used Christmas themed sprinkles)

How to make:

1 Preheat the oven to 350

2 Prepare 9×13 pan with a piece of parchment paper covering the sides and bottom.

3 In a medium bowl, add butter, white and brown sugar. With with a hand or stand mixer (This is where my recipe kinda took a little turn, other than the flour fiasco. Z was watching R, who is potty training, while I was in the kitchen. I hear him start yelling at her to put pants on, which was my clue to go in and see if she went potty. Oh, did she and….well, she decided to play in it. Gag. So, it took me 20 mins to clean her up, clean up the potty , scrub the rug down and start a load of laundry. So yeah, the butter sat in the sugar for a while.)

4 Add in eggs and vanilla extract. Beat for 3 mins.

5 Add baking powder, salt and 1/2 cup of almond flour (Used regular flour)

6 Continue mixing with the mixer, add remaining almond flour slowly until fully incorporated (This is where I screwed up. Almond flour is lighter than regular flour, so I should have used less flour. But no, I used the full 1 3/4 cup of regular flour. It was unbelievable dense when I was done mixing)

7 Fold in chocolate, sprinkles and white chocolate chips (You may omit white chocolate chips and replace with more chocolate chips) (I omitted the white chocolate chips and hand folding in the sprinkles/chocolate chips)

8 Spread evenly into 9X13 pan. Add additional sprinkles on top for decoration (I had a hard time spreading onto the parchment paper because the batter was so dense. I also decided to forgo the additional sprinkles.)

9 Bake for 25-30 minutes. Crust wants to turn into dark brown. Coming out fresh from the oven will seem uncooked, let fully cool in the pan before slicing into squares. (Did exactly this)

10 Store in an airtight container (Veggie Balance)

How many stars will I give Cake Batter Blondies: 4

Why? Even though the batter was super dense, it baked up nice. Had an awesome flavor and finding the chocolate chips in the blondies was a treat. When I make these again, I would make them with the almond flour.

How did the kids and the man like them? Z didn’t like them but he was acting off yesterday. B, R and BK loved them.

Is it a keeper? Yes. Just need to make it right the next time….lol.

Experience level: Beginner

Where to find this recipe: Veggie Balance

Ribbet collage

 

 

Leave a Reply

