Recipe: Southern Style Macaroni and Cheese

I am ashamed to say that before yesterday (when I made this recipe), my kids have never, ever had homemade macaroni and cheese. I usually buy the boxed version (yes, I know, bad mommy) or the mac and cheese cups. For some strange reason, I have shied away from making my own. Guess I didn’t think that I could make it right for some reason.

Anyways, I was browsing through blogs that I follow and found this gem on What’s for Dinner Moms and decided to make it for Sunday dinner as a change from chicken or pork.

Southern Style Macaroni and Cheese (anything I did different or any comments I have, will be in bold black font).

Prep time: 40 mins (I actually split the prep time in half. I made the pasta, added everything  but the eggs and sat on it for 2 1/2 hours.)

Cook time: 25-30 mins.

Total time: 65-70 mins

Serves: 6 to 8

Ingredients:

1 16 oz box pasta, cooked al dente according to directions (I used elbow but you can use any kind if you want)

1/2 cup butter

2 cups whole milk or half and half (I used whole lactose free milk because BK, R and B are lactose intolerant. Made no difference in the recipe)

3 large eggs

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper (I used cracked black pepper. It was the first pepper that I saw in my spice cabinet….lol)

16 oz shredded cheese, your choice (I used mild cheddar but use whatever you want)

How to make:

1 Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter a 9X13 casserole dish or spray with non-stick cooking spray. ( I did this last. As I stated above, I made the pasta, added everything but the eggs and then let it sit for 2 1/2 hours)

2 Boil the pasta and drain according to package directions for al dente

3 Return pasta to pan and stir in butter until melted. Slowly add in milk, salt, pepper, and cheese, stirring continually until all is melted through and well combined. You may need to turn on the back burner if the pasta is not hot enough to melt the ingredients. Be careful to keep stirring and not burn the pasta or sauce. (When I went to stir in the cheese, I made sure that the burner was on simmer. It kept the pasta hot enough to melt the cheese and then I transferred to a mixing bowl, covered with plastic wrap and let it sit for 2 1/2 hours)

4 Whisk eggs in a small bowl and add to pasta and cheese mixture once the mixture has cooled off a bit or otherwise your eggs will cook into scrambled eggs in the dish. Stir them into the mixture well. (Ok, this is where I preheat the oven and sprayed down the 9X13 pan. After I added the eggs and mixed, I put it in the pan and then let is set for 10 mins, while the oven preheated)

5 Pour into prepared casserole dish. Cover with aluminum foil, if desired to keep from forming a crust on top. (See above. And I didn’t cover the dish. I let it form the crust)

6 Bake for 25-30 mins or until center is set. Remove pan from oven and allow to set for 5 mins before serving. (What’s for Dinner Moms)

How many stars will I give Traditional Southern Style Macaroni and Cheese? 5 stars

Why? It was super easy to make and everyone loved it!!!

How did the kids and the man like it? B liked it but it kept getting stuck in her braces. Z licked his plate clean. R ate some of it but didn’t eat it all. BK had two servings.

Is it a keeper? Absolutely. It is going in the binder that we have.

Experience level: Beginner

Where to find this recipe? What’s for Dinner Moms.

Ribbet collage

What’s on the menu for this week:

Cake Batter Blondies

 

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Southern Style Macaroni and Cheese

Leave a Reply

