Book Review: Wed by Fortune by Judy Duarte

Before I start my review, I would like to thank NetGalley, Harlequin (US & Canada) and Harlequin for allowing me to review this book

**All opinions stated in this review are mine and I received Wed by Fortune for free from NetGalley for my honest and unbiased review**

Now, onto my review:

Format read in: Kindle, as an ARC

Publisher: Harlequin (US & Canada), Harlequin

Date of publication: May 24th 2016

Where the book can be found:

Amazon (Kindle and Paperback): Please remember that the prices can and will change

Barnes and Nobles (Nook and Paperback): Please remember that the prices can and will change

Half.com

Abebooks.com

Powells

IndieBound

Indigo

Genre: Romance

How many pages: 224

Series: The Fortunes of Texas: All Fortune’s Children #6

Book Synopsis:

You are cordially invited to witness the courtship of Graham Fortune Robinson & Sasha-Marie Gibault Smith

Graham has always thought of Sasha as his “little sister.”

Sasha has always considered the rugged rancher out of her league.

Now that Sasha is all grown up, there is nothing keeping them apart… Except she has a daughter. An ex-husband. And a very noticeable baby bump. And the always proper Graham suddenly finds himself thinking very sexy thoughts about the sweet single mom!

Perhaps Fortune is finally smiling on Graham—in the form of the true love this rich, unencumbered cowboy has always longed for!

My review:

3 Things I liked about Wed by Fortune:

  1. Sasha-Marie and Graham’s characters. They were cute together and the romance was adorable, in a bumbling way. I also loved how Sasha’s 7 year old daughter just fell in to love with Graham. OMG, the feels….lol.
  2. The boys home substory.  I loved it. I thought that it great that the author decided to write about something like this.
  3. Sasha’s daughter. I thought she was the cutest thing ever!!!! From her not so subtle attachment to Graham to her wanting to be a cowboy, she stole every scene that she was in this book

3 Things I disliked about Wed by Fortune:

  1. Sasha’s ex. While he make a couple of appearances in the book, what is revealed about him is awful. He is a selfish man child….plain and simple. One scene, I actually wanted to shove a boot up his butt….lol.
  2. Graham’s relationship with his father. Ok, I will be blunt, Graham’s father is a manwhore. I mean, who has 8 children with his wife and then goes on to father at least 4 other kids (as of this book). And he wasn’t very supportive of Graham at all, it seems.
  3. That this is the 6th book. While it is a standalone book, I felt that I was missing out on key plotlines (ie Graham’s father supposedly being the missing Fortune child). I am anal. I like to read books in order to pick up on subtle hints from the other books.

How many stars will I give Wed by Fortune? 3 1/2

Why? It was too wham-bam-thank you ma’am and the book stalled about halfway through. I will say that this would be a great beach/pool book, though. No complicated plot.

Will I reread it?  Yes, after I read the first 5 books in the series.

Will I reccomend it to family and friends? Yes

Age range? Teen on up.

Why? It is a relatively clean book. A couple of kissing scenes and one sex scene that has zero description to it.

Other books in the series:

Fortune’s Heir (Book 1)

Fortune’s Perfect Valentine (Book 2)

Fortune’s Perfect Husband (Book 3)

Fortune’s Special Delivery (Book 4)

Fortune’s Prince Charming (Book 5)

Leave a Reply

