Recipe: Lo Mein with Beef and Broccoli

Chinese food is a huge favorite in our household and since BK likes to make it from scratch, we very rarely order it out. We do have a favorite Chinese food restaurant that we order from on special occasions and their lo mein is to die for. We can never replicate it (ever, no matter how hard we tried) but tonight, I came darn close.

I will put a link to the websites where I found this recipe, along with the ratings of my kids and BK at the end of the post. Hope you enjoy!!!

Lo Mein with Beef and Broccoli

Prep time: 12 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Total time: 42 minutes

Serves 4

Ingredients:

8 oz dried egg noodles, cooked according to package instructions (I used 1 12 oz bag)

1/2 lb beef sirloin, thinly sliced (I used 1/2 lb of chicken instead)

1/2 tsp minced ginger (Forgot to buy ginger so I used 1/2 tsp ground ginger instead)

1 1/2 cups broccoli florets (I used frozen)

5 tbsp light soy sauce (I ran out of soy sauce, so I substituted with teriyaki marinade. Was a little sweeter than what I liked but worked well)

1 tbsp oyster sauce

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tsp brown sugar

2 tbsp sherry cooking wine (I don’t have sherry cooking wine. So BK googled and it brought him to this site. He used step 1 and used rice wine vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar. We saved the rest of it, it makes 1 cup, to use in future recipes)

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp cooking oil (I used EVOO)

Instructions:

1). Combine 2 1/2 tbsp soy sauce, sherry and garlic powder in bowl. Mix well. Put in the beef. Let it stay for 15 mins (this is where I ran out of soy sauce, btw).

2) Add the cornstarch in the bowl with the beef. Mix well.

3) Meanwhile, cook the egg noodles according to package directions. Set aside. (I suggest No Yolk. I got the Aldi brand and didn’t like them)

4) Heat the cooking oil in a pan. Once the oil gets hot, saute the marinated beef. Cook 3 to 5 minutes. ( I switched Steps 4 and 5 because I listened to BK. The broccoli was frozen and needed more time to cook and since I sliced the chicken…well you see where this is going. It did work, though, until he threw in the bamboo shoots. Then I kicked him out of the kitchen).

5) Add the broccoli. Cook for 2 mins (See what I wrote above).

6) Add the cooked egg noodles. Toss and cook for 2 to 5 mins.

7) Mix the oyster sauce, remaining soy sauce, sugar, ginger, salt and pepper in a bowl. (I used teriyaki marinade because I ran out of soy sauce in Step 1. Then, all hell broke loose in my house. My phone was ringing, B and Z decided to start screaming at each other, R was freaking out crying because she peeped on the potty and didn’t get any chocolate and BK was blissfully unaware in his office with headphones on. So I didn’t read this step all the way and added them one at a time and mixed after each one. To my surprise, it worked….lol.)

8) Pour the mixture on the noodles with beef. Cook for 5 to 7 minutes in medium heat while tossing once in a while (See what I wrote above).

9) Transfer to a serving plate (I actually left in the pan and just spooned onto dishes….lol.)

10. Serve. Share and enjoy (panlasang pinoy)

How many stars will I give Lo Mein with Beef and Broccoli: 4 1/2

Why: It was delicious. I just wish I didn’t run out of soy sauce during the recipe. The teriyaki marinade didn’t quite cut it. The next time I make it, I will make sure that I have enough soy sauce…lol.

How did the kids like it? B and Z liked it. R, in typical 2.5 year old fashion, ate two bites and said she was all done. BK liked it too.

Is it a keeper? Absolutely!!!

Experience level: I would have to say Intermediate. If you are a Beginner looking to try something a little out of your comfort zone, this would be it

Where to find this recipe: I found this originally on Yummly. The original recipe can be found here.

20160621_165352

What’s on the menu for next week?

Cake Batter Blondies (Gluten and Dairy free)

 

 

Leave a Reply

