book review · NetGalley

Book Review: The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker

Before I begin this review, I want to thank NetGalley, Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group and Imprint for letting me review this book.

Format read in: Kindle, as an ARC

Date of publication: September 6, 2016

Site(s) where book can be found: Amazon. Pre Order only for Kindle, Hardcover and Audio CD

Publisher:Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group and Imprint

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

How many pages: 304

Book synopsis:

We are not all created equal.

Seventeen years ago, Cody and her boyfriend James were two of the lucky babies from 1% of the population randomly selected to receive genetic engineering.

Known as the “Ones,” this generation of genetically enhanced teenagers is excelling. Cody, James, and their fellow Ones are healthy, beautiful, talented…and to some, that’s not fair. Mounting fear and jealousy of the Ones’ success leads to the creation of the Equality Movement, which quickly gains enough traction to outlaw future genetic engineering—and demote the Ones to second-class citizens.

Cody anticipated the repercussions even before the brick smashed through her window. It bears a clear message: the darkest impulses of society have been unleashed, and the Ones are the targets. As their school, the government, and even family and friends turn against them, Cody begins to believe they have no other choice but to protect their own. She draws closer to a group of radical Ones led by the passionate and fevered Kai, and James begins to question just how far she is willing to go to fight for her rights…

Themes of justice, discrimination and terrorism mix with actual science to create a frightening version of our near future in this pulse-pounding thriller. (Goodreads)

My review:

3 things I liked about The Ones:

  1. Cody and James sweet romance. I am glad that the author spent the time to make their romance innocent and sweet. In the midst of their world going crazy, it was…normal. And I loved it!!
  2. How realistic the plot was…for the most part. Take out the kids being genetically modified and insert current events and it makes it even more sinister to read.
  3. The family relationships showed in the book. The relationship James has with his family is so different than the one Cody has with her mother. And, to me, it is sad. Not going to get into it but let’s just say I would rather have a parent who wasn’t physically around than one who wasn’t there emotionally.

3 things I didn’t like about The Ones:

  1. James’s parents. I couldn’t stand them and I don’t know if the author wrote them to be unlikeable or not. They both rubbed me the wrong way. Listen, I know that the loss of a child does things to you but man. All I have to say is that you need to read the book. Seriously
  2. The Equality Movement. They kinda remind me of the Nazi’s in a way. Seriously. Their solution to what they think is a problem is to….well, you need to read the book. But I am serious when the group reminds me of the Nazi’s. Everything they stand for is wrong and unfortunately, they are gaining in power
  3. Kai’s group of friends. Kai and Taryn rubbed me the wrong way from the first time I met them. And the way the set about doing things. Well, let’s just say I don’t believe him for a minute about certain events that took place. Then Cody gets dragged even more into it and man, it became a cluster.

How many stars will I give The Ones? 4 1/2

Why? The Ones was a very well written dystopian book. It had complex character, a great romance and a couple of subplots that the author wrapped up about halfway through the book. I did get a little turned off by the torture chapters but I also understand that it is integral to the plot. The author also did a great job setting up for book 2.

Will I read it again? Yes

Will I reccomend to family and friends? Yes

Age range: Teen on up

Why? This was a very clean book. No sex (a few kisses were the most that was described) and no graphic violence.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

