book review

Book Review: I Found God in My Hair by Tanya Wright

Book synopsis:

Actress Tanya Wright (ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK, TRUE BLOOD) has naturally curly hair; for most of her life, her struggle to tame her curly mass has been the bane of her existence! She knew, though, that learning to love her locks would lead her to the other side of peace–that journey is chronicled in I FOUND GOD IN MY HAIR: 98 spiritual principles I learned from…my hair! Patience. Resilience. The importance–and power!– of letting go. Our hair has a lot to teach us! If only we will take the time to listen…

My review:

I normally do not like books that are essays. In a previous book review, I stated that most make me want to fall asleep because they are boring.

Well, not this book. It is a perfect length (around 100 pages) and it’s by an actress who I have followed since her days on The Cosby Show. She talks about her hair (duh!!!) and how it has taught her lessons.

Some of her lessons are:

Color

Plan

Insecurity

Power

Nature

and

Infinite Possibilities

If you want to read what lessons her hair taught her about those, you really do need to read the book.

Like I said above, it is a short book and I believe it would be perfect as a beach/pool book. You can get up and not worry about forgetting key plot summaries. Also, the pictures (from her days on The Cosby Show to her TrueBlood days) are fantastic.

How many stars would I give I Found God In My Hair? 3 1/2

Why? It was a very well written book of essays but I thought some of the lessons could have been expanded on.

Will I reread it? Yes

Will I recommend to family and friends? Yes

Age Range? All ages

Where to find I Found God In My Hair?

Kindle (Please remember that prices can and will change)

Paperback

Disclaimer: I received I Found God In My Hair by Tanya Wright from Hairiette for free for my honest review. All opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone.

Next book review:

Leave a Reply

