Book Review: Jesse and The Thinkers by Kenan John

Book synopsis:

“The whole playground stopped, all the birds in the trees flew away, the fresh leaves withered and fell to the ground, and everybody’s ice cream suddenly melted.”

In a normal world, 12 year old Jesse Winkler is one of the few who dare to stand out.
‘A weirdo,’ the children at the adventure playground call him, and not just because of his red bow tie. Strange things always seem to happen when Jesse is around.

No one can quite figure out what ‘brave Jake,’ who just happens to be the most popular kid in the playground, sees in ‘weirdo’ Jesse. But Jake always knew. He could just tell. One person’s weirdo, is another person’s hero.

Jesse and the Thinkers is an adventure story of friendship, magical mystery and suspense.
Along the journey awaits allies, enemies, and an evil beyond description with an obsession for death and destruction. He knows they are coming, but while there is Jesse, there is hope.

It’s time to wake up and start dreaming.

My review:

Let me start off by saying that a book that captures B’s attention, holds it and then makes her want to see what else happens is a book that stands out to me. See, I did something that I normally don’t do, I had her read it first and then I read it.

She loved it. She loved that she could relate to Jesse and Jake. She got emotionally invested in the plot. At some points, she would come up to me and ask “Why, Mom, why did this happen?” And she hates cliffhangers as much as I do but she asked me to find out when book#2 will be published because she wants to see what happens next.

When I read the book, I could see why she liked Jesse and Jake’s characters so well. Like her, Jesse is a boy who refuses to bend to society’s expectation of him and Jake, well Jake sees him for exactly who he is and doesn’t allow his peers to change his mind. Which is fantastic.

Now I can’t get too much into the book without giving away the ending but I will say this, the storyline all ties together. Every single sub story gets tied in at the end of the book. Which is great.

The only thing I even remotely had an issue with is that there was a cliffhanger. I detest cliffhangers. But (and there is always a but) in a way, cliffhangers are great. They get you to buy the 2nd book and guess what, I will be buying that as soon as it is out.

Now B had a review on the book also. It is one word: “COOL“. So there you go. The tween wonder’s first book review…lmao.

Would I read this book again? Yes and like I said above, I will be buying the 2nd book as soon as it comes out on Kindle. I will be downloading it to B’s Kindle also

Would I reccomend this book to family and friends? Yes. It is a very clean, very amusing children’s fantasy that has a fantastic message: “Don’t be afraid to be yourself.”

Age range: Tween on up

Amazon links. Please remember the the prices can and will change:

Kindle Unlimited (Yellow button that says “Read for Free” on it. You need a subscription for this service.)

Kindle (Orange button that says “Buy Now with One Click” on it. Comes standard with an Amazon account)

Disclaimer: I received Jesse and The Thinker from Kenan John for free for my honest review. All opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone.

Next product review:

Get Eye Cream

 

 

2 comments on “Book Review: Jesse and The Thinkers by Kenan John

Leave a Reply

