Book Review: The Hunger by Michael D. Young

Book synopsis:

Feed your Hunger.

In a distant, war-torn land, every man, woman and child must either consume the magical substance known as Sustenance or succumb to the Hunger. Those who succumb develop deformities and face exile — or even death.

The scholar Azil wants nothing more than to lead a tranquil life and beat back the Hunger. But when a mysterious assassin tries to kill Azil, and a stranger shows up at his door challenging him to join her on a quest, he embarks on a dangerous journey to steal the sacred gems of Sustenance guarded in a forbidden fortress. To get there, Azil must venture through a land of floating cities, ravenous mage wraiths, ax-wielding warriors, and bloodthirsty bandits.

But with the sacred gems of Sustenance come volatile magic — magic so strange and dangerous, that the prophecies foretell it could usher in a golden age, or turn its wielder into the darkest of villains.

My review:

I love fantasy and I know that I have mentioned it in pasty reviews. So when I was approached to review this book and I read the synopsis, I was really excited to read The Hunger.

And this book didn’t let me down!!!

From the very beginning, where we meet Azil, Evelet, Kaval, Sarhah and Jamith…the story sucks you in. I literally couldn’t put the book down, that’s how engrossing the story is. You are taken for a wild ride across a land where bandits and mage animals rule and cities whose secrets can kill you.

There was a twist at the end of the book that took me by surprise. Not giving anything away here but it is a huge twist that went perfectly with the book.

Would I read this book again? Yes and I can’t wait to see if/when there will be another another book.

Would I reccomend this book to family and friends? Yes

Age range? Teen on up

Amazon link (Please remember that prices can and will change)

Kindle Unlimited (Yellow button that says “Read for free”. You need a subscription for this service)

Kindle (Orange button that says “Buy now with one click”. This comes standard with an Amazon account).

Also, Future House Publishing is having 2 giveaways for The Hunger. In both of these giveaways, you can win a physical, signed copy of the book. So follow the links and enter!!!!

Future House Publishing Blog

Goodreads (scroll down, you will see it halfway down the page)

Also, for a limited time, The Hunger is $0.99 on Kindle (see my link above if interested).

Disclaimer: I received The Hunger from Future House Publishing for free for my honest review. I received no financial compensation for this review and all opinions stated are mine and mine alone.

Next product review:

Next book review:

Supermarket of Beliefs: The Truth in 11 Parts

Leave a Reply

