Book Review: Got Luck by Michael Darling

Book synopsis:

Police-officer-turned-private-investigator Goethe “Got” Luck is known for rolling with the punches and never taking anything too seriously. When he picks up a seemingly dead-end murder case, his life begins to take a crazy turn. Shot at, chased by people he has never met, and attacked by an invisible liondog, Got quickly learns that there is more to this world than meets the eye.

He discovers the Fae. The Eternals. They who dwell in the Behindbeyond. Once, they ruled over ancient realms, but over the centuries, their power dwindled. Now someone wants to restore their rule and subjugate humankind. All it will cost is thousands of human lives.

The clock is ticking. Getting the world out of this one will take a couple friends, more than a few well-placed insults, and a whole lot of Luck.

My review:

I am going to start off this review doing something I have never done before. I want everyone to know that I absolutely LOVE the cover of this book. Normally, I am “eh” about book covers. They are usually hit or miss and few come close to even giving a hint about what the book is about. But this cover nails it and I will leave it at that (READ THE BOOK!!!)

Now that I got that out of my system, onto my review.

I really, really liked Got Luck. It was fast paced, full of twists and turns and surprises with every page. Which made it really exciting to read because you didn’t know what was going to happen next. It took me exactly one day to read this book…in one sitting. Not easy to do with 3 kids but it happened….lol.

As I have stated in previous reviews, I loved anything Celtic and this book didn’t hold back. It had, of course, the Fae and the author made many references to Goethe’s (who is also the main character in the book) poem, “Der Erlkonig“. If you want to know more….read the book.

The ending was a bit of a surprise and had a twist in it that made me sad. Again, if you want to know what it was….read the book!!!!!

Will I read this book again? Yes. I would love to know if there are going to be more in the series!!!

Would I reccomend this book to family and friends? Yes.

Age range? Teens on up.

Amazon links. Please remember that prices can and will change:

Kindle Unlimited (Yellow button that says “Read for free” on it. You need a subscription for this)

Kindle (Orange button that says “Buy now with one click” on it. Comes standard with an Amazon account)

PaperbackIs on preorder since the title hasn’t been released yet.

Got Luck will be $.99 (on Kindle) from March 24th-March 30th 2016. I would hurry up and buy it!!!

Also, please click here if you want to win an autographed copy of Got Luck!!!!

Disclaimer: I received Got Luck from Future House Publishing for free for my honest review. I received no financial compensation for this review and all opinions expressed are mine and mine alone.

Next book review:

 

 

2 comments on “Book Review: Got Luck by Michael Darling

  1. michaelcdarling says:

    Thanks for the wonderful review! The sequel is underway and I’m excited that Got Luck has been so well-received. Looks like we may have a series! Appreciate, most of all, terrific readers like you! Thanks again! ~Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

