book review

Book Review: The Subtle Beauty (Crowns of The Twelve: Book 1) by Ann Hunter


Book synopsis:

A cursed prince. A vain beauty. Glory is the seventh daughter of Balthazar, High King of the Twelve Kingdoms. Glory hopes that – of all her sisters – she can escape the fate of a loveless marriage. But on the night she plans to elope with the royal falconer, her world comes crashing down: Her father announces Glory’s betrothal to Eoghan of the Blood Realm – a prince no one has ever seen. The prince is said to be a recluse, cursed and deformed by the gods for the sins of his power-hungry father. Yet when Glory is trapped in Blackthorn Keep she discovers that not everything is what she expected. An insulting gryphon, a persistent ghost, and a secret plan to usurp the prince keep Glory reeling. Can she overcome her vanity to learn that what you want isn’t necessarily what you need—and save the cursed prince?

My review:

I really enjoyed reading this book. From the first chapter (where we meet Xander and Aowynn), it had me hooked. Put it this way, I finished the book in a day…which never happens these days.

I think it was the combo of it being a retelling of a fairy tale (not tell you which one!!! You need to read the book!!!) and the fact that it was set in Ireland that made me love it. The author actually included Gaelic phrases and nicely put a directory at the end of the book so you could reference it.

The Colin/Eoghan/Glory triangle was truly heartbreaking but I did like seeing Glory change from a self centered, immature young woman to a woman who sees through other’s guises. It was a huge transformation.

Oh and Colin got what was coming to him….just saying (read the BOOK!!!)

The ending made me cry. I mean, who wouldn’t. It was the perfect ending to the book.

Will I read it again? Yes. When the author comes out with other books, I plan on reading them.

Will I reccomend it to family and friends? Yes

Age range? Teen on up. While no sex, there is some graphic violence that wouldn’t be suitable to younger kids.

Amazon link (just remember that the price can and will change):

Kindle

Disclaimer: I received The Subtle Beauty from Afterglow Productions for free for my honest review.All opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone. I received no financial compensation for this review.

Book I am reviewing next:

 

Leave a Reply

