Book Review: Deadbeat by Michael Murphy

Before I do my review, I have to put up this disclaimer: I received this product from Michael Murphy for free for my honest review. Any and all opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone. I received no financial compensation for this review. At the end of my review, I will include links to Amazon for Kindle (Unlimited and regular Kindle).

Book’s synopsis:

Jake Brogan, retired Army Special Forces, is hell bent on finding the murderer of his daughter, Chrissy, when he encounters a young woman in strikingly similar circumstances to those of his precious daughter. The young woman’s vicious drug dealing ex-husband is determined to kill her and her daughter. Does Jake continue to pursue his daughter’s killer, or stay and help the defenseless mother and child?

My review:

All I have to say is “Wow”. This book was fantastic. It grabs you right from the beginning and doesn’t let go of you until the end. I was glued to the book and it took me two nights of reading to finish it!!

Jake Brogan’s character was very well written and very developed. He comes across as a very damaged person….until you get into the book and realize WHY he is like that. And his best friend, Randy,…..well I think everyone needs a Randy in their life. I also think everyone needs a Jake in their life (read the book!!!)

The only issues I even had with the book were some spelling/grammar issues (and no, I am not a Grammar Nazi, they just popped out to me) and the fact that when the author switched from character to character in the same chapter, there was no notice. My advice….put up stars (like these:*****) between the different POV’s. Example, we went from Jake’s POV to Buddy’s POV in one chapter. It took me rereading the chapter to realize that.

Would I reccomend this book to family and friends? Yes, I would. If you like books with ton of action, a flawed hero and justice served without going through a trial….Deadbeat is the book!!!

Would I read it again? Absolutely. I also can’t wait for book 2 to come out!!

Now onto the Amazon links I promised. Just remember…..prices can and will change on Amazon!!:

Kindle Unlimited (Yellow Button that says Read for free on it. You need to be a member of Kindle Unlimited to get the book for free)

Kindle (Orange button that says buy now with one click on it)

If you decide to buy the book, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!!!

Next book on my review list:

Next product I will be reviewing (sorry, no pictures!!!)

Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners and Reynolds Parchment Paper

Look for these in the next week!!!

 

One thought on “Book Review: Deadbeat by Michael Murphy

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Skin Trade: Second in the Jake Brogan series by Michael K. Murphy – Life of a Crazy Mom

Leave a Reply

