Book Review: Catalyst (The Hannah Anders Trilogy: Book 1) by Amanda Uechi Ronan

Before I do my review, I have to put up this disclaimer: I received this product from Virtualbookworm Publishing for free for my honest review. Any and all opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone. I received no financial compensation for this review. At the end of my review, I will include links to Amazon for Kindle (Unlimited and regular Kindle) and for paperback.

Book synopsis:

Loyalty and friendship define Hannah Anders, an uncommon young woman fighting for freedom and family. A skilled warrior trained by the Comanche, Hannah’s journey begins in October 1835, when the stirrings of revolution are first heard in the Mexican territory called Texas. She follows her mentor, James Bowie, into battle with hopes of finding her first love, Morgan. Surprises wait around every corner though. Will Redding, a young volunteer from New York, just may lay claim to her heart first.

My review:

So along with my fantasy/sci fi obsession, I also love historical fiction. For some reason, reading a historical fiction book gives me a case of the warm fuzzies. And this book is not exception. It has a little romance in it, a lot of action and a ton of the legendary James Bowie….which I found fascinating.

 

I loved the fact that the author kinda made Hannah an oddball. I mean, a Comanche trained female warrior? Probably (but don’t say it never!!) didn’t happen in real life but it suits the book perfectly. I also like that the author made Hannah relatable too. Abusive childhood with awful dad still around…check. Torn between two loves….check. Self harms whenever she kills someone…check. Pushes everyone away…..check.

While I liked Will’s character, I do wish that he acted more….manly. I loved that he kept getting friend zoned by Hannah until the middle of the book….lol. For some reason, it kept giving me the giggles. I also liked his Uncle. You need to read the book to understand why I liked him!!!

Morgan, I couldn’t stand. He just rubbed me the wrong way. Not going to give away anything (read the book!!!) but if BK left me after something major happened to me, I would be fighting mad. I wanted to smack Hannah upside her head and say “Girlfriend, he’s no good. Move on!!”

Will I read this again? Yes, yes, yes!!!!! Even though it ends in a cliffhanger…which I detest.

Will I reccomend this to family and friends? Absolutely!!!

Now onto the Amazon links that I promised. As always, remember that Amazon can and will change the prices!!!

Kindle

Paperback

If you do decide to buy the book (which I highly reccomend you do), I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!!

Leave a Reply

