book review

Book review: Tale of a Ring: A Novel by Ilan Sheinfeld


Before I do my review, I have to put up this disclaimer: I received this product from Tomoson and EBookPro for free for my honest review. Any and all opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone. I received no financial compensation for this review. As with my other reviews, I will post the link to Amazon after my review is done.

Book synopsis:

The novel, A Tale of A Ring records the memories of Esperansa Gantz, a Jewish prostitute living in Buenos Aires.

The novel blends magic and history, passion and obsession into a rich and compelling book dealing with the tension between personal and collective memory.

In 1870-1930, an organisation of Jewish pimps called Tzvi Migdal persuaded Jewish families in Poland and Lithuania to entrust them with their daughters, promising to find them Jewish husbands or domestic work in Jewish homes in Buenos Aires. The girls fell victim to a vicious and sophisticated network of pimps that, in collaboration with the police and the government, enslaved them for the rest of their lives.

The Jewish community fought with all their might against this phenomenon, naming the pimps and their partners Las Impuros (The Unclean). When the organization was shut down, they also did their best to erase the entire affair from the collective memory.

My review:

This book was insanely good!!!

When I saw the cover of the book, I thought to myself, “Eh won’t like it”. Something about it I didn’t like. But once I started reading it….I couldn’t put it down. Now, it did take me 5 days to read the book but that was because we had a major snowstorm, lost power and my Kindle couldn’t charge.

 

There were so many aspects to the book that I loved. I loved the mysticism of it (the ring), loved that the author chose to write about such a taboo subject during that time (the Jewish prostitutes in Buenos Aires….will include a link) and I loved how the author wove everything together in the end.

Will I read it again? Yes

Will I reccomend it to family and friends? Yes

Here is the link to The Unclean.

Now onto the Amazon links. Please remember that prices can and will change!!!

Kindle Unlimited (Yellow Button that says read for free. You need a subscription for that)

Kindle (Orange Button that says Buy Now. Free with a Kindle/Amazon account)

If you choose to read this book, I hope that you enjoyed it as much as I did!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

