Book Review: Germany, At Odds by Eldad Beck

Germany, at Odds

Before I do my review, I have to put up this disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for a highly discounted price through Tomoson and the publisher. Any and all opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone. I received no financial compensation for this review. Now, on to the review. At the end of the review, I will include a links to Amazon for the paperback and Kindle version.

Book Synopsis:

“Germany, at Odds” is a personal journey of an Israeli journalist throughout this challenging country at the beginning of the 21st century. The book questions many assumptions about “the new Germany”: Is there really only one Germany or such a thing as “a German mentality”? Is Germany a strong and stable democracy in the heart of Europe? Have “the Germans” really confronted their past?
“Germany, at Odds” is an invitation to see Germany differently.

My review:

This was a very interesting book. Written by a Jewish journalist, it explored Germany’s troubled past, unsure present and shaky future. It explored the very shaky (and often turbulent) relationship with Israel, the Neo Nazi’s that are rising in power and in rank in the German government and other influences that is shaping the country.

This was a real eye opening book. While I am aware of some of the issues that were plaguing Germany, I wasn’t aware of the political corruptness (but I wasn’t surprised by it) or even of the Neo Nazi/Muslim influence on the government.

I was also under the impression that there was one united Germany. But after reading this book, it makes me wonder how untied it is. It seems that the government is fractured….possibly beyond repair.

I have always wanted to visit Germany….even took 6 years of German in high school to help with that dream. But, after reading this book and seeing the disturbance in the government and in the public by the Neo Nazi’s and the radical Muslims*, I think I might wait.

Would I reccomend this book to other people: Maybe. Depends if they want to read about Germany and its issues. Or if they are big into non fiction.

Would I read this book again: Yes, I would.

Here are my links to the book on Amazon:

Kindle

Paperback

*I want to add that I one of the rare people who are not against the Muslims after Paris. I want to make my stance very clear on this: I am against the killing of anyone by any type of radical religion. Be it Jewish, Christian, Muslim and any other religion out there….if you kill in that religion’s name, you are a dirt bag. Plain and simple. Any nasty comments on this will be deleted and any down voting because of this on Amazon will be reported too.

Leave a Reply

