Book Review: Love and War in British Palestine by Gad Shimron

Before I do my review, I have to put up this disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for a highly discounted price through Tomoson and the publisher. Any and all opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone. I received no financial compensation for this review. Now, on to the review. At the end of the review, I will include a links to Amazon for the paperback and Kindle version.

Book’s synopsis:

Passionate love in turbulent times

An impossible love affair between a German and a Jew, situated in the beating heart of British Palestine.

“LOVE AND WAR IN BRITISH PALESTINE” is an unusual love affair that takes place in Jerusalem in the 1930s and 40s. Tamar-Henrietta Landwehr, a Viennese Jewish refugee, falls in love with Wolfgang Schwarte, a German man born in Jerusalem’s German Colony. Heavy social pressure devastates the impossible relationship between Jewish Tamar and the Christian Wolfgang, offspring of the Templer community, many of which were active Nazis and supporters of the Third Reich.

Heartbroken and devastated, Wolfgang returns to Germany to pursue his studies. When the Second World War breaks, he is drafted as a commando paratrooper and finds himself dropped over Jericho to sabotage behind British lines. Tamar, who was trying to forget him, is astounded to spot him in Jerusalem in the summer of 1942, just as newspaper headlines are heralding Field Marshal Erwin Rommel’s Afrikan Korps’ invasion to Palestine.

˃˃˃ A sweeping historical novel based on extensive in-depth research

Jews and Germans, Englishmen and Arabs, underground extremists, British detectives, and Nazi spies ”” all populate the pages of this wide-ranging historical novel, bringing turbulent Jerusalem in the time of the British Mandate to life. LOVE AND WAR IN BRITISH PALESTINE is more than an irresistible love drama: it weaves real events with fictional episodes and characters to create a fictional story that could have just as well been real.

My review:

IMG_3331.JPG

This book caught and held my attention in ways that most books haven’t lately. While it was first and foremost a love story, I loved that it was historical fiction also. When I say fiction, I mean the romance/characters and certain events were made up. I gobble up historical fiction and the fact that it was a love story made it even better for me!!!

I really felt the pain of Tamar and Wolfgang’s love affair and actually cried when she ended it. His pain (and hers) were very well written. I have wondered if there were Templer/Jewish romances that went on at the same time and ended just as badly.

The secondary storyline of Jonathan and Alisa was interesting. I mean, to find out that your grandfather, who raised you like a son, was not blood related was shocking. And to find out that your blood grandfather was a Nazi was an equally bigger shock. I mean, I would have been hysterical.

I did find some faults with the book, though. While very well written, the story jumped around a lot. My suggestion to the editor, have the author put spacers in between it jumps. Because, I will admit, I got confused when I was reading about Tamar one minute and the next paragraph was about something totally different (like on the warfront or even in a different country and Tamar wasn’t there).

Overall, I liked the book. I loved that the author nicely included translations at the end of each page of Jewish, Arabic and German words/places and phrases. I did, however, have to look up Templer Christians and only because I had a mental image of the Knight Templars running through my head. To people reading this…..not the same religious group!!!!!

I will reccomend this book to family and friends. It was a great read and you can get totally absorbed in the story.

Now here are the links I promised (prices can and will change):

Kindle (pre order only)

Paperback 

 

Leave a Reply

