Book/Product Review: Ever Faithful To His Lead: My Journey Away From Emotional Abuse by Kathleen Pooler

Ever Faithful to His Lead: My Journey Away from Emotional Abuse

Disclaimer –I received this book free of charge from the author and Tomoson for my honest review. Any and all opinions are my own. I also did not receive any financial compensation for my review.

Book Synopsis:

“Good girl travels a rocky road to become a strong woman. Kathleen Pooler’s experience and insights capture the essence of an era, and this crisply written volume will inspire any reader.” Sharon Lippincott, author of The Heart and Craft of Lifestory Writing ..”.provides us with a deep well of wisdom-and a cautionary tale that will resonate with every woman.” Lynne M. Spreen, author of Dakota Blues Nothing can rescue her until she decides to rescue herself How does a young woman from a stable, loving family make so many wise choices when it comes to career, but so many poor choices when it comes to love? Kathy must face her self-defeating patterns before she and her children become a statistic. Her life and the lives of her two children depend upon the choices she makes, and the chances she takes. Join Kathy on her roller coaster ride of self-discovery, from shame and guilt to inner strength in her tears to triumph story. “If you have ever despaired as a parent or partner, knowing you have made a wrong choice but not knowing how to move forward, you will find courage, hope, and strength in these pages.” Shirley Showalter, author of Blush: A Mennonite Girl Meets a Glittering World Kathleen Pooler is a retired Family Nurse Practitioner and active memoir writer. She believes in the power of hope and writing to transform, heal and transcend life’s obstacles and disappointments. She writes weekly at her Memoir Writer’s Journey blog: http: //krpooler.com.

My review:

As a survivor (I do not use the term victim) of domestic abuse, I have sympathy for the author of the book. I have a ton of sympathy. I had to put the book down in certain parts because I would have a flashback (have PTSD because of that relationship) and I would cry. My heart went out to her. Knowing how hard it is to actually leave an abuser and to stay away from him (or her…it does go both ways), I give her a lot of credit to.

But, saying all of that too, I didn’t like the book. I think she could have benefitted from having it proofread and edited. There were a lot of “dead weight” in it, that could have been pruned. Plus, with the way the book ended mystified me. It was so sudden. I do remember reading that she got married. But no mention of him, at all. Also, I am to believe that her children just miraculously healed from such a damaging relationship and being uprooted time and time again? Some tie in to that would have been appreciated too.

Will I read it again? No. It was a struggle for me to just get through it. Will I recommend it to friends and family? If they like these types of books, sure, I will.

Leave a Reply

