book review

Book Review: The Legend of Kimberly: Inheritance (The Legend of Kimberly: Book 1) by J.R. Leckman

The Legend of Kimberly: Inheritance

Format read in: Kindle

Price at time of purchase: Free

Price now (subject to change): Free

Goodreads review:

When Kimberly finds a magic sword, she is taken away from Earth and her abusive father to a world called Auviarra, a place she thought her grandfather had invented. Striving to become the kind of hero she has always read about, Kimberly soon discovers a growing darkness inside, a darkness that is being cultivated by the evil creatures she is hunting. Will she stay human, or succumb to the magic?

My review:

I really, really liked this book but it was very dark. I know it geared towards young adults but I would say that it should say towards young adults maybe 16 and older. The reason I say that is because there are some pretty detailed scenes of physical, mental and emotional abuse. I want to also warn that those same scenes could possible be a trigger if you have PTSD or severe anxiety.

Overall, the book was very well written and even I missed Hal’s character (even though he was around for 1 chapter). He stood up for what was right (protecting his granddaughter) and the legacy he left her was unbelievable!!!

The world of Auviarra was great too. It came alive in my mind. Kim’s friends (Serra, Trey, Helena and Ronnee) were diverse. I liked Serra because she connected the most with Kim.

The twists (and there were a couple BIG ones) were just that, twists. One, I didn’t even see coming…..and I am good at figuring out stuff like that.

So, I will tell people to read this book….just beware of triggers if you have PTSD or severe anxiety.

Book I am reading now:

Bad Vibrations (The Sedona Trilogy, #1)

Leave a Reply

