book review

Book Review: City of Rogues (The Koblas Trilogy: Book 1) by Ty Johnston

City of Rogues (The Kobalos Trilogy, #1)

Format read in: Kindle

Price at time of purchase: Free

Price now: Free

Genre: Fantasy

Goodreads synopsis:

Kron Darkbow seeks vengeance, and he plans to have it no matter the costs. Returning to the city of his birth after 15 years, he hunts down the wizard responsible for the deaths of those he loved only to find out another was responsible for the murders. That other is Belgad the Liar, a former barbarian chieftain who is now boss of the city’s underworld.

Following his path for blood, Kron comes across the magical healer, Randall Tendbones, and accidentally reveals Randall’s darkest secret to the world. It’s a secret about the past, a secret that has kept Randall on the run for three years. Now it has caught up with him, and Belgad the Liar is suddenly the least of Randall and Kron’s concerns. The gaze of Lord Verkain, king of of the dark northern land of Kobalos, has fallen upon Kron and Randall. And it is a gaze filled with madness.

My review:

What I liked about City of Rogues:

* The characters. While it took a while for me to actually connect with them, I found that they grew on you. My favorites were Wyck, Lucius and Randall. Not so favorite: Belgad and to find out why, you need to read the book 🙂

* It is a fantasy novel. I love fantasy novels!!!!!!

What I disliked about City of Rogues:

* I didn’t like that fact that the book was rather hard to follow in the beginning. It was another book written before that I didn’t read. I catch on rather quick and it took me a couple of chapters before I got what was going on. A prologe would have really been nice.

* The ending. It was too abrupt and too pat. It seemed that everyone got together at the right time and all the loose ends were taken care of.

Book I am reading now:

Someone to Believe In (O'Neil Family, #1)

Leave a Reply

