book review

Book Review: In The Garden of Temptation by Cynthia Wicklund (The Garden Series: Book 1)

Its book review time. Before I get to my review, here’s the lowdown on the book:

In the Garden of Temptation (Garden, #1)

Format read in: Kindle

Price at the time of purchase: $0.00

Price now: Kindle: $0.00, Audible Audio Edition: $17.95 (Amazon)

Genre: romance, historical romance, regency

Goodread’s Synopsis:

“HONOR – Adam Stanford, Earl of Ashworth, has always done the right thing.
DESIRE – Lady Catherine Bourgeault, lonely and rejected, longs to experience passion, to love just once in her life.
TREACHERY – The Baron Bourgeault, to what extremes will an obsessive, unstable man go to achieve his own dark ends? 
SEDUCTION – In the face of a love that will not be denied, Adam and Catherine risk everything to be together.
BETRAYAL – What price must Catherine and Adam pay for a forbidden love in a time when honor meant everything?” 

My review:

What I liked about In the Garden of Temptation:

*It was a regency romance. I love historical/regency books….mainly romances. Don’t ask me why. I just do. Something about mentally picturing the characters in dress and with the English accent. I know, I’m weird. But hey, I own my weirdness :).

* The realness of the characters and how complex they are. Catherine, Adam and Lord Bourgeault characters were really in-depth. There were a few scenes (mainly at the end) where I went “Aha…that makes sense”.

* I liked how the author incorporated phobia/mental illness into the story and did it in a way that flowed with the era she was talking about.

What I disliked about In the Garden of Temptation:

* I really didn’t like Lord Bourgeault’s character…..even reading through the book and knowing what I know now. That’s all I am going to say on that.

*The language and wording of certain phrases. I am know that “willy nilly” has a proper place in the English language. But, in a hot and heavy sex scene. No. It killed it for me.

*The ending. It felt a little rushed to me and everything was neatly taken care of.

Would I recommend In the Garden of Temptation?

Yup.

Book I am reading now:

Death's Angels

 

Leave a Reply

